Dr. RS Sharma


Dr Ram Sewak Sharma is the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Health Authority (under the Ministry of Health & Family Welfare) that implements Ayushman Bharat Digital Mission (ABDM) and Pradhan Mantri Jan Arogya Yojana (AB PM-JAY), two flagship health missions of the Government of India. He is also the Chairman of Empowered Group on Vaccine Administration for Covid-19 and a member of the National Expert Group on Vaccine Administration for Covid-19.

Dr Sharma is a member of the Indian Administrative Service (IAS 1978 (Rtd.) Jharkhand cadre). Before his appointment as the CEO of National Health Authority from February 1, 2021, he served as the Chairman of the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) from August 2015 to September 2020. Prior to this assignment, he served as the Secretary of the Department of Electronics and Information Technology (under the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology, Government of India) and as the Chief Secretary to the State Government of Jharkhand (India).

Dr Sharma was founding Director General and Mission Director of UIDAI and was a part of leadership team that built and launched Aadhaar, the world’s largest Digital Identity Platform. He has captured the experience of building Aadhaar in his recently published book, ‘Making of Aadhar: World’s largest Identity Platform’.

Dr Sharma has a deep interest on using technology for governance and has led a number of e-Governance projects at both the National and the State level. He has been responsible for implementing a number of projects relating to ICT infrastructure, process reengineering and service delivery through the Public Private Partnership (PPP) models.His contributions in this area have been recognized both in India and abroad.

Dr Sharma is an alumnus of the prestigious Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur (IIT-K), where he earned a Master’s in Mathematics, and of the University of Allahabad, where he completed his Bachelor’s in Science. While on leave from the Government of India, he earned a Master’s in Computer Science from University of California, Riverside in 2002, and subsequently a PhD from the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi (IIT-D).